And so we begin….

I know a few of you are still waiting to receive your books but I figured we might as well get started!  I don’t know about you but I’m not getting any thinner and my jiggly parts aren’t getting any less jiggly!

First you should know I’m not a doctor, I don’t play one on TV and in fact I rarely even go to the doctor.  Well, at least not as often as I should.  I have been on the 17 Day Diet because I was selected, with a small group of others, to participate in the diet through a television show called “The Doctors”.  We were given an unpublished copy of the diet and some instructions a couple of months ago.  In fact like many of you I just received my official “published” copy of the book earlier this week and ….

I LOVE IT.

I must have 100 or more diet books on my book shelves.  Okay, probably more. Probably much, much more.

They include:

  1. The Weight Loss Bible
  2. The Low Carb Bible (Hey, come on, they had the word “Bible” in them so I figured if God was involved I’d HAVE to lose weight, right?  Nope. Not right)
  3. Healthy Life (I mean who doesn’t want one of those)
  4. Eat Great and Lose Weight (Eating “Great” should naturally include ice cream and pie, right?  It didn’t)
  5. Atkins – Various editions (The day after an Atkins meal my husband and I had our blood work done and I was almost hospitalized until I explained to my Dr. what we’d been eating!)
  6. The Zone
  7. Entering the Zone
  8. Mastering the Zone
  9. Leaving the Zone and Living on the Curb (okay, I made that one up but that’s pretty much where I ended up after traveling in The Zone)
  10. Jenny Craig (She had a TV show and she looked really good)
  11. Weight Watchers (Various editions, and support books, too many to name)
  12. Suzanne Somers (I seem especially attracted to books written by thin woman with chefs and plastic surgeons)
  13. I WILL Lose Weight This Time (THIS is by far a favorite!  I mean who could resist that title in the bookstore, right?)

And on and on and on and so on and so on.  You get the picture I’m sure.

 What’s really amazing is I keep buying them, putting them on the shelf and I’m not a single pound thinner!  What’s up with that!?  I paid good money for those gosh darn books! 

You might ask, “Well, you read them right?”  Huh?  Read them?  Are you nuts?  Of course I never really read them. 

Usually I’d buy the book, run home as fast as possible and flip to the “good part.”  You know the “just tell me what to eat, when to eat it part” and then skip to the “how thin will I be and how fast” part.  I mean that’s all I was ever really interested in.  I didn’t care how it worked or if my liver was quivering.

The only upside of owning these books is I must have burned off a few calories carrying the darn things home and maybe one of these days if I ever get around to organizing the bookshelves I’ll lose a pound or two carrying them all to Salvation Army.

BUT, here’s what I think about The 17-Day Diet Book that I just received:

It’s easy to read.  It’s a perfect size (fits in my purse) and doesn’t’ feel overwhelming.  I think out of the 100’s of diet books I own it’s the only one I’ve actually sat down to read at chapter one and read through…oh, and I can understand it without a chemistry degree!  No fancy lingo or mumbo jumbo!  No “Dr. Speak.”  It’s written in plain English.  Simple.  No unusual foods to buy. No points to count.  No exchanges to make.

I know some of you have just received or are still waiting for your books.  For those waiting most likely your book will arrive this week and when it does TAKE MY ADVICE:  READ IT.  I know this may sound logical and you’re thinking “Well shoot Terri, I know that” but trust me, I know a few of you out there, just like me buy the book and think carrying it around with you will somehow cause weight loss.  Sure, you might burn up 4 to 5 calories a day. Let’s see, 4 to 5 calories a day and 3,000 plus calories in a pound that means you’d lose a pound every 750 days if you carry the book with you everywhere, never put it down and don’t eat too much.  I have a better way.  READ THE BOOK.  You won’t need a calculator or have to take notes.  It’s actually enjoyable.

One other thing I’d recommend if you are waiting for your book or have just received it.  Take a “before” photo. I know I know.  (I just heard you all collectively scream and pass out)  I had to do it too for The Doctors and I hated it.  In fact I had to do a follow up photo last night and still having 30-40 lbs to lose it was not a pleasant experience especially when with my back turned to my husband I hear him mumble, “God, I’d NEVER do this.”  I am assuming the view from the rear is as bad as I imagined.  Anyway as much as I hated it and I haven’t lost as much as I want to lose I could see a difference and it was motivating.  And believe me after you lose the weight you will want that “before” photo. You can carry it in your wallet, post it on the bathroom mirror or the refrigerator – it may just become “the” tool you need to keep that weight off!

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liz
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 00:10:38

    Terri, thank you so much for this blog! As I was reading it, I was thinking, “man, this gal is my twin!” You and I are so alike in our “get thin” lifestyle. I call it a lifestyle because I’ve been on so many diets and weight loss this or that, that it feels like a lifestyle. I read the books exactly the way you do!! Still waiting on my book to arrive and now I’m actually looking forward to “reading” it! Thank you again and I will be sure and bookmark this!

    PS…your blog wasn’t too long.

    Reply

    • tksinclair
      Dec 09, 2010 @ 04:24:45

      Liz, you will really appreciate this book and since, like me, you’re a diet book expert you’ll see how easy it is to read compared to the others. The food lists are easy to follow. I keep a list of the foods I’m allowed on my phase in my purse so I never even have to think about what to buy. I also really like to keep the soup on hand. I don’t put the chicken in the pot but add it here and there when I want it. The soup is warm and filling and a good start when I’ve allowed myself to get too hungry and feel like I’m going to eat anything that doesn’t eat me first!

      Reply

  2. Cynthia
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 00:35:16

    Oh my gosh, we should get together because we could open a weight loss book library; and I could open an exercise video library store! I recently purchased an Xbox 360 Kinect and the 17 Day Diet Book, I hope this is the motivation I need to lose the weight and finally get fit this coming year!

    Reply

    • tksinclair
      Dec 09, 2010 @ 04:20:00

      Lucky you Cynthia! I’m so jealous! 🙂 I would LOVE an Xbox but since my husband lost his job the week before Thanksgiving there are no presents for us or the kids this year. BUT, I think it’s a GREAT idea. I think anything that makes exercise fun helps. Can’t wait to hear how it works out and how much you’re working out!

      Reply

  3. heather pfaff
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 03:45:19

    I have been on the diet for 4 days. I have the flu on top of this major commitment. I need to get better and start exercising. I have 20 lbs or maybe 30 if I believe I am thin bone. I have a hard time drinking water. I am going to weigh myself tomorrow. I miss my diet coke. The picture idea is a good one. Tomorrow my before picture.

    Reply

    • tksinclair
      Dec 09, 2010 @ 04:17:26

      I HATE being sick Heather! If I were you I’d concentrate on getting well. In the meantime I’d stick with soups as much as possible. Like you I am not a very good water drinker and while I’ve cut significantly back on diet soda I admit I do have one from time to time. There is sodium in the diet sodas so you must remember that if you drink them you won’t lose as quickly but sometimes for me it’s worth the trade off. I do hope you feel better soon! Trust me the picture is hard but worth it in the end!

      Reply

  4. Cynthia
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 04:53:13

    Oh, please don’t be jealous, I really had to think long and hard about this purchase, and if we live close enough, please come join me! I really hate, hate, hate to exercise! I’m in the process of moving furniture around to make room for using the Xbox and really don’t see this happening until aleast a couple of weeks! As far as sodium in diet sodas, I think Diet Rite Soda has little or no sodium, hopefully it is available in your area. Some people try a squeeze of lemon or lime juice in their water to make it taste better, hope this helps! Wishing everyone the best of luck! :)!

    Reply

  5. Kathy J.
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 14:29:21

    Thanks for doing this blog, Terri! And… like you, I have plenty of diet books I’ve purchased over the years. Too many to count! Some have worked, some not so much, but never the less that was then — this is now. I am truly committed to getting this weight off and doing the right way! I’m gonna read this book this weekend (something I’ve never done — read a weight loss book from front to back) and Monday morning, I’m on my way to a new life! I look forward to our journey together and thanks so much for doing this! And tell your husband — this was perfect!

    Reply

  6. Liz
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 14:40:29

    It’s been shipped today!!

    Reply

  7. Monica
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 17:58:55

    Wasn’t sure if the e-mails I was receiving were legit, but from what I read here, it seems so. Looking forward to starting this, and getting a little more than anxious to receive the book. Yes, the blog was a little long, but in my experience with reading people’s blogs, the first one always is. You have to introduce yourself, the subject and let people get a feel for your rhythm. Really clear, though. Look forward to following. Have you gotten an air date yet for your return to The Doctors?

    Reply

  8. Andi
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 21:46:42

    Hi Teri ,
    This blog was perfect not to long at all and great info .Like sitting here listening to a friend .I can not wait to get the 17 day diet book . will have to wait for now as Christmas is coming ,tomorrow is hubby’s b/day ,Son who’s in the navy will be home in 9 days,daughter b/day on the 23rd crazy crazy month for me etc .no extra money ! I’m sorry to hear of your husbands job loss .I know how hard holidays can be anyway and to add this on top is enough to make you want to at eat eat lol .You stay strong and I look forward to the next blog . ps: you must tell us how you come off sugar .That I know will be the hardest for me .I’m a coffee drinker all day and as my hubby puts it ‘Have A lil coffee with your sugar? ‘ 🙂

    Reply

  9. Christina
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 00:34:52

    Hi Terri,

    I really do appreciate you writing a blog- I look forward to reading your daily adventures.

    On a side note, would it be possible for you shed some light upon the ones who are still waiting for the book to arrive? We had exchanged a few emails earlier in the week and I definitely think you should share that information in your blog (in regards to jump starting this diet).

    Reply

  10. Lori
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 11:07:30

    The part about having all those diet books and skipping to the good part made me LOL, thought maybe I was the only one!

    So in my skepticism can I ask; is this another 1200-1400 calorie a day diet just repackaged a different way with a different “hook” (mixing up the metabolism for eg)?

    Any vegetarian or preferably vegan options? I never was a big meat eater and can tolerate some but really don’t want to stink up my house cooking meat.

    Thanks.

    Reply

    • tksinclair
      Dec 13, 2010 @ 11:15:21

      Hi Lori, Yes there are options. In fact yesterday I had an egg white omelet and a veggie sausage patty. I’m not sure what you mean by “hook” , I know for me (I’m not scientist) I’ve been on other diets and didn’t lose that much in 17 days (12 lbs). Certainly not as nutritionally sound as they one. But I can’t say there are no other diets out there that wouldn’t do the same thing. I’m familiar with a LOT of them but not all of them. I just know that not only did this work, and IS working for me, I know it’s worked for the other people in The Doctors Show group. I like it because it’s easy, no special foods to buy, it’s sort of a no brainer and the book is so easy to read and to understand. As I said, no mumbo jumbo. I like that. I don’t need a chemisty degree – I need thinner thighs dang it! (So happy you’re here)

      Reply

  11. Lori
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 05:30:10

    Thanks for the reply, it does sound more interesting.

    I got the word “hook” from my doctor brother who uses it when we have discussed different diets. Basically it means the bottom line is still consume less calories and you will lose weight but the different books just repackage it in a different way. I have been talking about this book in another group I follow online, it is a podcast, fat2fit radio and did bring up another point I wonder about and that is how long will the weight stay off, especially if it comes off too fast (one reason being losing muscle and not fat). Is there any kind of maintenance part? I guess I should just fork over the money to answer my questions already! I really don’t love cooking either, which is another dilemma and there is no kind of food delivery program here. I suppose if it does not work the library will take it (should give them those 100 other diet books too now that I think about it and quit dusting them!)

    Reply

    • Lori
      Dec 14, 2010 @ 05:55:30

      Someone posted a sample day of food and I did a quick tally of calories and it looked like about 1000 calories. Did you manage to not feel constantly hungry? Also had you eating eggs for breakfast AND lunch which would get old for me quick. I dunno, I am really craving chocolate cake already and haven’t even started this!

      Reply

      • Debbie Ponzetti
        Dec 18, 2010 @ 16:56:38

        Lori, Only been on the diet for 2 days but I haven’t had any cravings and believe me I am a BIG snacker. I do not like fish so I am sure that I am going to be sick of chicken after 17 days. But I have not cheated for 2 days and this has never happened to me with any other diet I have ever followed. And I have tried them all. I have lost and gained maybe 1000 pounds.

    • tksinclair
      Dec 14, 2010 @ 07:12:44

      Lori there is a delivery program that I’ve used and LOVE. It’s the 17 Day Diet by Bistro MD. I can get you in touch with someone directly if you’d like. (I’m not sure if I benefit from a referral but I’m hoping in a few weeks to ask them to giveaway a week or food as a “prize” shhhhh……) I don’t like to cook either. I won’t say you won’t have cravings. My life is a craving! And yes there are different phases including a maintenance phase. Yes, I’d say the first cycle is about 1000 calories. I haven’t felt hungry but I have had cravings. That’s being totally honest! Last night I didn’t even eat my dinner (a no no but I wasn’t hungry and I was tired after a long day). I did eat a couple of apples which I’d been craving all day!

      Reply

  12. RunMomRun
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 10:44:20

    I received my book a few weeks ago. I *thought* I would start on January 1st. After feeling so fat and uncomfortable in my clothes and even in my own skin, I decided to start yesterday (Dec. 27). I started under no pretense that I would be perfect on these days with a family Christmas celebration and a lot of traveling plus sitting at my oldest son’s basketball tournament. I was only determined to do the best that I could and try to strive to be 90% on plan and do better than I would have done had I not decided to start early.
    I actually did quite well yesterday-only about 3 bites of bread, a few chips with a tad of dip, 2 small cookies, and a few handfuls of popcorn. I didn’t get enough water in although I did drink more than I have been the last few busy weeks. Good news-I was down 1.8 pounds today. Water weight I realize, but that is fine with me. I need to get rid of water pounds too.
    Today will again be a bit of a challenge but so far so good. Trying to choke down the lower sugar greek yogurt and struggling with it. Hoping to find time to make the soup either tonight or tomorrow. Anyone else in the early days?

    Reply

    • tksinclair
      Dec 28, 2010 @ 14:12:14

      I think you made a great decision to start early. Sometimes it takes a few days to “warm up” and get going. I admit, shhhhhh….I sometimes put sugar substitute in my yogurt. I’m only human!!! And sugar is the hardest thing for me to give up!

      Reply

  13. RunMomRun
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 19:49:11

    Oh I definately added truvia to the yougurt! I have had the other flavored greek yogurts and done fine. This was a plain one with only 6 grams of sugar and frankly, nasty! I did not eat enough today and pretty much blew it tonight at dinner out after the basketball tournament. But, that is exactly, why I started early and knew that these first couple of days were going to be the ‘warm up” practice days. Christmas and tournament over now so tomorrow I can give it 100% focus.

    Reply

  14. Granny G
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 11:49:52

    Hello Ladies, just got the book and have read three chapters and it is pretty good. Dr Moreno pulls no punches. Tells it like it is. Can’t wait to get started. Need to get the right foods in the house and get rid of the cookies, etc! Get the grandkids back in school and here we go. So nice to join you all on this blog.

    Reply

  15. Terri
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 03:47:56

    I received my book and will be starting the diet on Monday. I have done weight watchers in the past and although I did lose some weight, I hit a plateau and finally just gave up. Also, weight watchers do not address carbs the way this diet does, so this is something very new to me. I am SO happy to see that this board offers some support which I look forward to in the coming days. Thank you for all your posts!!!

    Reply

  16. merideth
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 13:05:51

    hello to you all! i just ordered the book. i am excited and nervous! i have never been on a diet of any kind – ever. i weigh 100-110lbs more than when i met my husband 18 yrs ago.

    i have been so unhappy with myself. i can barely reach down to tie my shoes without feeling like i might pass out! and my maternity clothes from last baby (who’ll be 6 in two months) are now too small. not joking.

    hubs is not at all supportive. he’s not like the husband from trinidad on dr phil who liked his wife chubby; he just works a lot and is kind of critical without trying to be. so . . . i am going to start this new thing secretly. i don’t really have any friends who would be willing to do it with me, so i’m glad i found this blog and you all!

    Reply

    • Terri
      Jan 03, 2011 @ 05:31:42

      Hi Meredith! I think we have the same husband! My husband has never had a weight problem and so he thinks that weight loss is simple, and all you have to do is eat less and move more. Even though this is true, it is far from easy for those of us that are overweight. He loves me regardless of my size, but it’s just so frustrating that he, along with other people who have never had to deal with weight think that it’s just that simple. I’m glad we have a place to support each other who are dealing with the same issues. Today is my first day, and I too am excited and nervous, but we’ll get through it together. Good luck!

      Reply

Leave a comment