I’m “here”….

I know this week might be difficult for some of you.  Regardless of whether you’ve started the diet or not the week before a holiday can be stressful.  And Stress = Food.  Well, at least for me it does.  Actually just about anything “can” equal food now that I think about it.  Happy = Food.  Unhappy = Food.  Stress = Food.  Relaxed = Food.  (Okay, maybe different kinds of food – remind me later to tell you about my recent trip to West Virginia to see my birth father, step-mother, sister and nieces  for the first time in almost 20 years – which was wonderful, btw – and all the fried green tomatoes and fried okra I ate, OMG)

Anyway, I’m working on a couple of posts for this week.  I don’t know that I’ll post one every day but “I’m here” everyday.  I check in, I read, I write, I work.  Sometimes a post takes me a few days (Hard to believe I put that much time into a post isn’t it?) And, other people are “here.”  PLEASE read the comments. There is some great information in there. Debbie has shared her PLAN for holiday eating and please feel free to share yours too!  I read every comment and I hope you do too.

If you have a recipe please share it!   

And now, an admission.  Quiet please.  Shhhhhhh….ahem, okay, I USE SPLENDA.  I know, I know, I know…I know what the book says.  I get it but seriously if I don’t have something sweet there’s going to be big trouble in little China – or something like that!   Debbie is looking for a sugar free fruit yogurt (is that right, Debbie?) and hasn’t found one.   If you notice non-fat yogurt is much higher in sugar than “regular” yogurt!  Crazy, huh?

Here’s what I do; I slice strawberries and mix them with Greek Style non-fat yogurt and use Splenda.  Also, Splenda has a brown sugar version.  You can slice your apple, put it in the microwave with a little water for a couple of minutes until it’s softened (some people tell me they put a little diet soda in instead of water – I haven’t tried that yet) sprinkle with brown sugar Splenda and cinnamon.  It’s delicious!

I’m working on the possibility of expanding the software here to offer more options.  Someone suggested we post our heights, weights and desired weight in our comments.  There’s no way I can do that from here but I think it’s a great idea!  Feel free to do it!

I am on this journey with you.  Have I successful lost some weight?  Yes, I have.  Do I need to lose more?   Yes, I do.  Is it easy for me, NO IT ISN’T.  Every day is a new struggle.  It never comes easy – at least not yet. 

I woke up this morning dreaming of being with friends looking at vacation photos I was in and was so embarrassed at the way I looked.  I could see myself in actual outfits I owned and I looked so terrible I was mortified.  This leads me back to “THE PHOTOS”.  I really think this is a secret tool.  I think we forget what we look like.  Just like age…Sometimes I look at a photo and think “Wow, what a terrible photo, I look SO OLD.”  Until I see about 10 more photos from the same time and realize, oh, wait, that’s what I really look like!

If you’re new here please go back and read the past entries.  There aren’t that many (If you go to the calendar to the right and start at 12/08/10, that’s the first entry) and please don’t forget to subscribe.  If you’ve been around for a week or two make sure you’ve read the comments.  There’s good information there and please feel free to add your comments!

38 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy
    Dec 19, 2010 @ 16:58:57

    As a fellow Mountaineer who loves fried green tomatoes, I am looking forward to hearing about your visit to our great state.

    Reply

    • tksinclair
      Dec 19, 2010 @ 18:45:40

      I was born in Charleston and lived there until I was 7 or 8. It always feels like “home” to me no matter how long I’ve been away. But the food…omg, it’s SO GOOD. When I was little my grandmother used to give me fried pickled corn. A local woman, Mrs. White, in St. Albans, would pickle corn off the cob. We’d fry it in bacon grease with lots of pepper! I still crave it to this day with a big glass of buttermilk. In fact when I was pregnant I had such a craving (Mrs. White had long since passed away) so I’d take a can or corn and drain it, fry it with sauerkraut and pepper and come about as close as I could to the taste. Okay, now back to our regularly scheduled programing!

      Reply

  2. Kathi
    Dec 19, 2010 @ 18:45:51

    Hi–Just got my book on Friday. I don’t know if it’s crazy to begin a diet the week before Christmas, but I’m doing it anyway. The temptations between now and Xmas Eve are pretty minor for me–no parties or anything. I then have three days of dinners at various houses, but I will take that in stride. Any weight I lose between now and then will help me in the end! Speaking of which, I lost two pounds my first day. If it’s water, that’s fine with me, as for the past three months I couldn’t get those numbers to budge no matter what I did! Any loss is so encouraging, especially since in the timeframe I’ve been trying to diet (almost exactly three years), I’ve actually gained 12 lbs. I really hope this diet is my last.

    Thanks for this blog–I look forward to your updates!

    Reply

    • tksinclair
      Dec 19, 2010 @ 18:51:35

      You know Kathi I’d go ahead and start if I was you! Okay, so you might be more prone to slip up..so what? You’ll still most likely eat less than you would have if you weren’t being aware of your eating right? I would go to your dinners and eat smaller portions! IN fact I’d eat an apple on my way to dinner. No kidding it fills you up. Three of four apples a day are better than two servings of dessert, right? Use those apples! Also, so glad you’re here!

      Reply

  3. tksinclair
    Dec 19, 2010 @ 18:48:00

    Oh and Cindy this last time they took me to Taramack! I won’t even list what I ate but it ended with bread pudding!

    Reply

    • Cindy
      Dec 20, 2010 @ 05:50:54

      We are about 30 mile south of Wheeling and we always head that way for the great festivals ( they seem to have one for any and all reasons) and I just go for the wonderful foods. Going to have to change my way of thinking I guess.

      Reply

  4. Beth
    Dec 19, 2010 @ 21:14:11

    Hello, I am Beth good to meet you all. Thank you Terri for getting me here. 🙂

    My daughter, sister and I have recieved our books and will start Jan 2, 2011. We have to have our black eye peas on the 1st for good luck into the new year.

    My sister is very knowledgeable about dieting. I understand nutrition but have never dieted. I tend to make simple things difficult, so hoping you all can keep me clear on how to do this correctly.

    I quit smoking 5 years ago and replaced it with junk food. Gained close to 50 lbs. I hope to lose 40 of those and see how I look and feel at that point. My daughter has had weight issues but now is serious about getting it off. It’s for her that I really want to do this right.

    I have alot of questions about the first phase. I am not sure how and what we can season with. I do see the list of condiments allowed but can we use dry herbs, like ms. dash and grill mates? My daughter likes flavored waters. I am not finding many that has no sugar. What I have found is expensive. If I understand correctly we are not allow any sugar? Now you see why I am so glad I found you all! I hope I can in return inspire and motivate too!

    Reply

    • sasha
      Dec 20, 2010 @ 09:52:14

      hi Beth…we have actually been using the great value drink mix flavoring for water (you can get it at walmart)…for some odd reason the ones you can buy in the “tube” (the flavoring is in little tubs) have no sugar, but the ones you buy as one big container of mix does have sugar. they are cheap and i use them sparingly (when i just cant take plain water anymore lol)
      i should note in the ingredients there is aspartame….but it is cheap and i dont drink it all the time.

      Reply

  5. Beth
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 07:40:08

    I reread the chapter on Cycle 1 Acceleration and picked up what I needed to know about herbs and spices. We can even have fat free salad dressing? I am only reading up to the first cycle. I want to focus entirely on the first 17 days to begin.
    http://www.fatfree.com/recipes/dressings/

    Reply

  6. Debbie Ponzetti
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 10:06:41

    I am on day 4 have lost 2.7 lbs. No big water weigh loss for me because I have been on water pills for my blood pressure for years. I decided to start the diet as soon as I got the book because I was mentally ready to start the diet. I can talk a diet with the best of them. I have been on every diet known to man! My family does nothing but talk diet every time we get together all the while we are eating chips and candy. Is this diet new , not really, what is new is that it is clearly written, easy to follow if you stay away from the carbs and is showing results. I am having a problem with exercising to the DVD so I am going back to my wii boxing program. Really the diet is easy so don’t think it is so much to learn don’t too scared that you can’t do it because you have so much to remember.
    Debbie Age 53 Starting weight 12/17 226.2 current weight 12/20 223.5 goal weight 165

    Reply

  7. sasha
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 10:17:17

    this is day 5 of my journey…im so glad i found your blog. i think reading this and of others journey will help to keep me motivated 🙂 i did finally take the dreaded picture to day(when noone else was home) i had to sit the camera up myself and i have to say not only do i look fat but i look like a fat giant thanks to the angle but you are soooo right it should give me plenty of insentive…okay here it goes
    im 33
    5’2″
    my weigh in the morning i started the plan 184lbs
    my goal apx 125lb
    so far i have been following the 17 d.d to a T (started 5 days ago) and i have already lost 9lbs! probably mostly water weight i was a big pop and sugar indulger but that is OK with me i am pumped!

    Reply

    • Katie
      Dec 20, 2010 @ 11:17:14

      sasha – thanks for the laugh. fat giant! i see that you are short like me.
      i feel like a tree trunk.
      starting the plan today!
      50/5’3″/203lbs/goal 135lbs.

      Reply

      • sasha
        Dec 21, 2010 @ 16:15:34

        Hi Katie…no problem, hey we are making a change so why not laugh about it now because b4 to long we are going to be so fit we wont be able to see ourself that way 🙂 ( tree trunk ? i feel like the stump 😉 ) good luck on your journey as long as we stick to it it will be a life changer

    • merideth
      Jan 02, 2011 @ 13:46:29

      fat giant – lol! hubs and i cruised in 2001 (oh, about 40lbs ago & about 60lbs overweight). he took a picture of me underwater while we were snorkeling…i was facing him and i looked like a fat baby. you know how they sit with legs and arms spread a bit out, waving? lol!

      Reply

  8. Beth
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 10:51:15

    Would anyone be interested in doing menu plans and sharing with each other? I think that would help me alot. Debbie I agree, it’s nothing new but common sense and healthy eating. I do love the way he’s written and he comes through as a very nice guy!

    Reply

  9. tksinclair
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 10:56:13

    I would be happy to share my menus! And a NEW DISCOVERY! Well, not “new” exactly! But chicken sausage. I sprayed the pan with cooking spray and it got nice and brown and I felt like I was eating something so bad, it was good! Also Canadian bacon in the morning. AND I’d actually had, are you ready for this….a patty of sausage MADE FROM VEGETABLES. It tasted exactly like sausage! I never would have known – amazing!

    Reply

  10. tksinclair
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 10:57:43

    I was thinking of setting up a comlimentary message board for recipes and menus OR would you prefer a format like this?

    Reply

    • Katie
      Dec 20, 2010 @ 11:13:53

      a seperate page for menus and recipes would be great!
      today is the first day of the rest of my life…again.
      taking my photos this morning and buying my food today.
      50 years/5’3″/203lbs/goal 135lbs

      Reply

  11. Beth
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 11:30:12

    I would love a message board! I am kinda loss around here. lol Congrats to those starting and seeing results already!!!

    Reply

  12. Beth
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 11:37:47

    Hi Sasha, thank you I had not thought of those and will definitely get some for emergencies. I do not live very close to anything lol so I plan trips, to stores like big lots and other wholesale, salvage stores. Last week, we found Celius, an energy drink with no sugar or caffiene and mixed with green tea! 2.00 a 4 pk. Taste pretty good and can burn off 100 calories by drinking. I do feel my energy increase and not jittery. If you have a big lots I suggest checking it out.

    Reply

  13. Sally
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 11:53:59

    Just wanted to tell you I’m enjoying your blog. On day 5 of cycle 1, have only lost a couple of pounds, but am in the “healthy weight range” already so don’t expect huge numbers, but I love how it’s teaching me to eat. Love the book and the way the diet progresses, and I also LOVE the workout DVD that came with it. Looking forward to more of your blog to keep me motivated and inspired. Thank you for writing it. (I’m also in Southern California).

    Reply

  14. Debbie Ponz
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 16:29:04

    I have a question about goal weight. I know that my goal weight of 160 lbs is over the recommended range but I believe it is a weight that I can maintain. I am large boned but I am only 5’4″ and looking at everyone’s goal weight I am about 25 pounds over most of you. How did you set your goal weight? I know at if I was younger i would set a lower goal but at my current weight and age I think that 160 would be good for me and then when I reach it I can decide if I want to go lower. What are your thoughts. On another note: for supper tonight I had taco salad. I browned ground turkey and mixed with salsa topped a bed of lettuce with the ground turkey and fat free cheese then I mixed greek yogurt with salsa and topped everything It was wonderful!

    Reply

    • tksinclair
      Dec 20, 2010 @ 17:07:09

      I agree with you Debbie. I’m 57 (BUT, very immature for my age) and I doubt I’ll see the likes of 135 again! I’m 5’5″, currently around 185 (started at 190) I think I’d be happy about 145 – 150. It’s true as you get older it’s just impossible to “fight” the scale every darn day. I like your idea of setting your goal at 160 – which seems realistic and attainable (and reasonable!) and then decide if you want to lose a few more pounds at that point. I’m interested in what others think about “goal weight!” I did work out today, 45 minutes with weights and 20 minutes on the treadmill but I WASN’T HAPPY ABOUT IT. But, I did it! Your supper sounds delicious! I am addicted to greek yogurt mixed with salsa! It’s so good I always think I’m doing something “wrong!”

      Reply

  15. Debbie Ponz
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 20:31:53

    Ok i fell off the wagon tonight. I was making candy for Christmas and I had a bite then i was making cookies and I had one. But this time I didn’t use the slip as an excuse to eat more so I guess that is good. I knew that starting the diet this week was going to be hard so I guess I climb back on the wagon and keep going. And what is funny is that I really didn’t want the candy but I sure wanted the cookie! I never met a cookie I didn’t like. Oh well good luck to all

    Reply

  16. Kathi
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 08:07:09

    I hadn’t been drinking my green tea OR water since Day 1…just kept forgetting about the tea, and I don’t like cold water during the winter. So today I brewed about 16 oz. of green tea and added it to a thermos of cool water. Now I have a warm semi-green tea drink that pretty much will fill my whole quota of both liquids.

    Hope this helps with my loss. I lost two pounds very quickly and now am up half a pound today. I ate some leftover Chinese food yesterday–just veggies, but very salty, of course, so I’m sure it’s water weight, but that won’t leave unless I drink enough. Also tracking my food exactly after two days of “winging it”–I ate no grain-type carbs or sweets, but I did sneak in more fruit than the plan allows.

    Reply

  17. Sally
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 08:39:44

    Kathi, I have had a similar experience. I never drank green tea before, but I started with this diet. I did find that I can use the same tea bag twice since I like mine a bit on the weaker side. I lost 2 pounds the first day, then up 1 pound the next two, and now down a total of 2.4 pounds on Day 6. I don’t exclude any type of fruits just because I want the nutrients and fiber that come with them, but I eat only 2 a day and none after 2 p.m. (except last night before bed when I was really hungry and had had only 1 fruit, so I ate 2 tiny tangerines). But when I compare how I’m eating now to how I was eating during the last year or two, it’s a huge improvement. I have not missed the snacky, processed foods one bit, and I have allowed myself a few tiny tastes of sweets (1 cookie one day, 3 Kisses one day) to prevent that feeling of being so restricted that I will eat on the rebound at some point. I am of a healthy weight but still would like to shed a few pounds, but mostly, I wanted to adopt a more nutrient-dense diet. I have noticed I end the day right around 1050 calories at about a 40-30-30 ratio, so I feel really good about this plan, especially what it teaches you and how it progresses.

    Reply

  18. sasha
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 12:09:21

    i knew starting this diet so close to the holidays was goin to be a challenge…1st day or 2 was fine but as i began to prepare the different desserts n such for Christmas i began to feel the pressure ( so far just 1 tini nibble of cookie dough 🙂 but then i told myself “stick to it sasha, and if you do then on Christmas Eve/Day and new years you will give yourself free reign on whatever you want” that helped with the wanting to “cookie crash” and im hoping since i am feeling so great and doing so good this past week that i will pass more than not come those coulpe off “free” days 🙂

    Reply

  19. tksinclair
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 14:24:57

    Just wanted to thank you all for your wonderful comments and updates! I know it’s encouraging for me so it MUST be for others. Hopefully I’ll have a post up before the end of the week (I have a lot of email to answer too!). You are all doing so well!

    Reply

  20. Cindy
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 06:51:24

    If any one is having trouble with drinking the water I found if you use a straw and put toward the back of the mouth and “suck and swallow ” you can get a lot of water in easily.

    Reply

    • Donna
      Dec 27, 2010 @ 17:48:00

      Cindy you are SO right! A straw is a MUST for me too… I even bought myself a “water cup” (my Christmas present to me from my toddler 🙂 ) and made sure it had a straw! My Mom bought me a Brita water pitcher so I can save the bottled water for running around during the day… our tap water just has a “taste” about it & the Brita made a BIG difference!

      Reply

    • Granny G
      Dec 29, 2010 @ 12:04:36

      That is true about the straw. And if you take big swallows instead of sips, it goes down faster.

      Reply

  21. Granny G
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 13:08:20

    Gearing up to start. When the book says cup of green tea with meals, do you think that it has to be hot tea? I am thinking I could make a big pitcher for the whole day and drink it with ice. Thoughts?

    Reply

    • Jenna
      Dec 29, 2010 @ 16:39:59

      GrannyG, I dont like any type of tea. So what I am going to do it I bought those little powder pouches that you pour into a bottle of water. I will start with half a pouch a day and see how it goes. Maybe I can work my way up to a hot cup of tea before bed or something.

      Reply

  22. Amber
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 17:23:44

    In regards to yogurt, can Activia – Light Fat Free be used? In the book I was a little confused because it listed ” Yogurt, any type – sugar free fruit flavored; plain; and low fat” Any info would be appreciated!! Only on day 2, but I worry that I am sabotaging already because I am currently using Activia and want to make sure it is allowable for Cycle 1.

    Reply

  23. Katie
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 13:41:36

    Hi ladies! I’m so glad I found this site! I’m on day 4.

    Here it is 2:40 and I’m still full from a 11:30 lunch. Really interesting to me. Before starting this diet, I WAS a big fast food fan. All the kids are gone, hubby working, so it was easy to just run and get a burger. But by now? I would be wanting to snack. Hummmm healthy eating really does work!

    I to would love a recipe site.

    Oh about me, I’m 47, starting weight 189, goal weight 145 (going by the Dr. charts) and I”m 5’9″.

    Reply

    • tksinclair
      Dec 30, 2010 @ 13:55:19

      We have about same goals – except I’m 5’5″ and it’s my “goal” to be 5’9″….guess there’s not a “diet” for that yet! So glad you’re here! Please join in anytime.

      Reply

      • Katie
        Dec 30, 2010 @ 14:10:03

        Thank you so much!! Question, Are you all doing the 17 day exercise DVD? I really do consider myself in pretty good shape. OK, I’ve be out of it for a month or so, but do exercise. So I did the one 17 day all over cardio?? Honestly, that was Tuesday and I’m still moaning from the soreness from the squats! Good sore I know, but wow did that work!!

        Oh and thank you for starting the face book page for recipes.

        I know that this is really going to help me stick with it. It is great talking to and hearing ideas from everyone doing what I’m doing.

        Oh and we will have to work on some kinda of plan to gain the inches! 🙂 in height that is.

  24. tksinclair
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 14:17:33

    Yes Katie, I agree! If I could only grow about 4″ ….. but instead I’m shrinking!!! GAH! Figures. I am off to the gym today. Yesterday I did uppper body, today lower body. I didn’t do enough cardio yesterday – maybe 20 minutes and I didn’t put much effort into it. Oh well, I’ll try to make up for it today!

    I haven’t done the DVD yet! Maybe tomorrow?? You’ve inspired me. I love a sore butt!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

