My Secret Arsenal

I’m building a secret arsenal.  I mean let’s face it; a person can only eat so many chicken breasts and cans of tuna before going crazy, right?  Although I really don’t like to cook and don’t experiment much in the kitchen I am learning to spread my flabby wings, experiment a little bit and build an arsenal of “acceptable” foods. 

I don’t think I’m a picky eater but I do like things to taste a certain way.  One thing that’s really surprised me is sausage.  MADE FROM VEGETABLES! 

I know what you’re thinking! 

MEAT? 

Made from vegetables? 

You’ve got to be kidding!  

Thanks, but no thanks, right?

Usually I steer clear of that section of the grocery like the plague but after giving it a try I was pleasantly surprised to find out they weren’t bad.  In fact not only are they not bad, they are actually good!  They taste almost exactly like the “real” thing. 

For breakfast today I had an egg white omelet, a vegetable sausage patty and a couple of slices of canned peaches heated up.  I don’t know that I could have distinguished the difference in the vegetable patty and the “real” thing.  Really!  Trust me on this one.  It’s at least worth a try, right? 

I bet you could even fool your family into believing it was the real deal. (Just make sure you hide the packaging in the bottom of the trash can.)

For lunch I made tuna with low-fat mayo (Okay, I’m working towards the non-fat), Dijon mustard, celery, diced apple, red onion and a TINY BIT of dried cherries.  Better to leave the cherries off of course but I used a miniscule amount.  It was delicious.

Have you made the soup?  It’s good, filling and you can eat it anytime.  In fact before cooking a holiday meal for the family, before going out to dinner, before the holiday parties; anytime you think you might overeat…eat an apple and a bowl of the vegetable soup first.  It won’t be possible to do too much damage after that, you’ll just be too full!

In the next couple of days my writing might slow down a little bit due to the holidays but please use this time to go back and reread some of the posts and ESPECIALLY read the comments sections for the progress of some of our members and recipe ideas.  We really have a wonderful group of people here – smart, funny, honest and giving.  I’ve been fortunate to email with most of you at some point and I’m delighted to hear your stories – you all have so much to offer.  If you click on the calendar to the “right” and start on December 8th you will be able to read the blog from beginning to end.

I WILL BE POSTING – just maybe not as much!  So please remember to check in regularly. 

Also, people have requested a message board and a place for recipes.  I’m looking into both.  For now use the comment section. 

Oh and yesterday I had a butter accident.  Yep.  I was sitting there, minding my own business, cooking a chicken sausage link (Also VERY GOOD, give them a try too) and the darn sausage wouldn’t brown and next thing I knew there, in the pan, right before my eyes was…A TINY BIT OF BUTTER!  It just sort of flew in there before I could grab my PAM…Which leads me to this….

…It’s a holiday week.  It’s going to be tough out there.  There’s going to be butter and sugar flying around all over the place!  It’s going to be sneaking around every corner and calling your name in the night!

But, if you’re like me, I might usually have gained anywhere between 2 and 5 pounds this week.  I feel like if I can maintain or maybe even lose a pound, I’m doing pretty darn good and so are you.  Don’t beat yourself up. 

Yes, you may slip…we all do.  It happens.  (I laughed while reading the comments about Sasha’s (“1 tini nibble of cookie dough”)

I suggest having a plan.  Use a smaller plate.  Take smaller portions.  Don’t weigh yourself the day after – instead get back on the program, drink your water and tea, give it a couple of days THEN weigh yourself.  The important thing is DON’T GIVE UP.  It’s only “a day.”  There will be plenty of them.  Your eating program is not going to be perfect every day.  You can’t be perfect every day.  We just need to start being better most days.

The motto of the week:

Do the best with what you’ve got and when you can, do better.

Thank you all for being here.  This has been a wonderful experience and I’m looking forward to starting the New Year with all the new friends I’ve made here.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liz
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 18:44:59

    Have an awesome Holiday !!! Thank you for your hints and your cheering and your time! I know I can do this and I have you to thank for the most of it!!
    Merry Christmas!

    Reply

  2. Joan
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 08:11:07

    Hi! I’m on day 9 of Cycle 1 and just discovered your blog. Love your writing! I’m also 57, 5’5″, and started out at 180.2. I’m down 3.4 lbs so far, which for me is nothing short of miraculous, especially during a holiday week. As a dear friend used to say, “I don’t care if it’s water, fur, fat, or feathers–it’s gone!” And a big plus: I don’t feel like I’m starving myself to death. Not sure what my goal weight should be. My “happy” weight is 132, but let’s be realistic here. 😉

    I love those vegetable sausage patties as well. I’m all tuna’d out from my endless dieting days, but I did bring roasted beet borscht and leftover turkey for lunch today. Yum!

    I’m so glad I discovered your blog. Getting healthier is so much easier with support!

    Reply

    • tksinclair
      Dec 22, 2010 @ 15:36:07

      Hi Joan! I’m so happy you found the blog! I’m glad there’s information here that helps you but I can already tell you’ll be an inspiration and support for others as well. I never in my life thought I’d eat, and ENJOY a vegetable sausage patty! Sure fooled me. Oh yes, I remember the days of 132-135 but you know what? That wasn’t my “fighting” weight it’s the weight I had to fight for! I had to work out constantly and could NEVER eat anything “bad.” I think the days of those numbers, at least for me, are gone – but you know what – when I look at photos of myself when I was 140-150 I still looked pretty darn good especially if I was working out so that’s my goal for now. That borscht sounds delicious!!!

      Reply

  3. Debbie Ponz
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 10:42:19

    I think we all need to be reminded that we didn’t get overweight or unhealthy because of “one day” of bad eating. It took many days of bad eating. I hope you all enjoy whatever holiday you celebrate, I celebrate Christmas, and don’t use it as an excuse to stop the diet. Just get right back on the horse and keep up the good work.
    Merry Christmas to all

    Reply

  4. Donna
    Dec 26, 2010 @ 21:18:28

    I haven’t started this diet yet, but I’ve got the book, my journal and food list prepared to start Jan. 3rd… My question is: can to please share the brand names, stores you found them at and possibly the section you found your “secret arsenols?” 😉 As I was shopping today I looked and seen nothing close to vegetable sausage! Help! 😉

    Reply

    • tksinclair
      Dec 26, 2010 @ 21:34:11

      Hi Donna, I live in S. California and don’t shop at “special” stores…like health food stores. This was at my Vons and local Ralphs. But, depending on where you live I’m guessing Whole Foods would be a great place or even Trader Joes. Let me know what aread you’re in and I’ll see what I can find out!

      Reply

  5. Donna
    Dec 27, 2010 @ 17:38:56

    Thanks! Well, I don’t have any of the mentioned stores here… I’m in Western KY and we have WalMart (of course) and Kroger – our two major grocery stores. I shop Kroger the most, and the one I usually visit (the nearest) is smaller, but on the other side of town (the one I visit when I have extra time) is much larger and has a larger “health food” section. I didn’t know where to look for these products… like I said, last night while at Kroger I peeked near the sausage/bacon isle and saw nothing close to vegetable sausage. Maybe I should check out near the vegetarian stuff, like where the tofu (just sounds GROSS!) is?

    Reply

  6. Joan
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 06:47:28

    I usually shop at the big chain stores rather than whole foods stores such as “Whole Paycheck.” 🙂 But I can usually find Morningstar Farms vegetable sausage in the frozen foods section. They make regular and maple flavored patties and sausage links. I nuke one pattie, chop it up, and then mix with two chopped hard-boiled eggs and a little light mayo and Dijon. Yum!

    And while we’re on the subject, Applegate Farms makes a wonderful (though spendy) chicken and maple sausage (the chicken and apple is good too).

    Reply

    • Donna
      Dec 28, 2010 @ 08:12:43

      Thanks Joan! I checked out Morningstar’s website and they had a “where to buy” option and our Krogers & Walmarts carry their products… they even said CVS and Walgreens carry their brand, although maybe not the specific product I’m looking for. I have a few friends that are vegans/vegetarians and remember this brand mentioned by them. When I go out this weekend shopping I’m definitely picking up some of this… and looking for the Applegate brand as well! Thanks for the help girls!

      Reply

  7. Renee at Applegate
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 07:40:37

    Hey Donna! You can try our store locator to help you find our products: http://www.applegatefarms.com/bullseye/store_locator.aspx

    Hope this helps!
    Renee and the Applegate Crew

    Reply

  8. daley22@adelphia.net
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 16:36:16

    question! are all morningstar and boca items ok?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

