Foundation for Recovery

No Debbie, you’re not alone!  I’ve gained 3 pounds! (Read the comments sections to see the reference)  BUT the holidays will be over soon and it’s not the 5 or 6 pounds I usually would have gained.  Christmas Day and the day after I ate anything that didn’t eat me first…I think my mistake was going in with the “I’ll eat anything I want for that one meal” attitude.  NOT A GOOD STRATEGY. It’s amazing how much I could pack in over one two hour “meal.”  I would have been much better off eating an apple and vegetable soup prior to dinner at my aunt’s house where there was every food and elaborate dessert imaginable.

I know there are a couple of questions in the comments so please feel free to answer from your experience or if you have something that’s working for you, or not working for you, share it there!

Hopefully by next week you’ve taken your “BEFORE” photos. 

Also, and stick with me here, I think it’s helpful to start a collage. Yes, I know, we’re not in high school and it may sound silly but hey, what else are we going to do with our idle hands now that they aren’t busy putting food in our mouths?  I don’t care if you’re 18 or 80 if you’re working on losing weight and eating healthy you want to make a life change, right?  Have you made a collage like this before?  I bet not.  We’ve all been on diets before and it hasn’t worked or the weight hasn’t stayed off, right?  If it did we wouldn’t be here.  So please, give it a try, for me.

What I’d like you to do is work on a collage of what you’d like your life to look like.  Get out the scissors and paste.  You can make it a small page in your journal or poster size, whatever suits you.  No one has to know or you can paste it on the front door to your house…all that matters is once a day YOU can see it.  You might even do two, one with your BEFORE photo and one with room for your AFTER photo.

You see, losing the weight is only one battle in the war.  We’ve decided to use this particular diet, which I think is a great healthy way to lose weight, to take the weight off, but then what?  What’s going to keep it off? 

We need to make BIGGER changes. 

Just eating right and taking the weight off  is only one part of what we need to do.  What’s as important is developing a sense of who you are and what makes you truly happy.  This is what will keep the weight off. 

We need to build a foundation for recovery.  We don’t want to do all this work and have a temporary weight loss, right?  Been there, done that. 

Work on your collage and if inspired take a photo of it and send it to me.  I’ll post them. What inspires you just might inspire someone else, right?

And if you’ve been having trouble remember, tomorrow is a new day.  Don’t give up.  This isn’t about “a day” it’s about your life.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. AlanaSmithee
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 16:00:49

    This is not on topic as I am not yet on the 17 day diet. I found your website last night and read everything and all the comments and decided to order the diet and dvd and get to work in the New Year. I too am in Southern California, Los Angeles Area, I am 60 and after becoming a widow in 1988 I have gained about 3 pounds a year. Doesn’t seem like much but now I am a bit more than 200 pounds at about 5’3″ or so. I blew out a knee several years ago and have been told I will need knee replacement.
    But the most interesting thing that happened for me today is that I told a friend today that I ordered a diet book and her response was “‘get lap-band’ it’s reversible and everyone I know loses weight”. She also said “well, I can’t imagine that a book will tell you anything different that might make a difference since it’s just about eating less calories. And do you know if your insurance cover a nutritionist?” Wow, I was sort of blown away that she had this response to me. Actually, I was really disappointed since she isn’t exactly tiny but certainly has less belly fat and looks much better than I do. I felt totally slapped as I was sharing something quite personal and positive and she just smacked me down.
    Anyway, I am awaiting my book and looking forward to getting started since I feel this website is full of kindred spirits!!

    Reply

    • tksinclair
      Dec 28, 2010 @ 16:32:59

      Hi Alana, first, welcome! Second, DON’T DO LAP BAND! Listen, it’s not the magic solution. You still have to change your eating. No, the book isn’t magic either but at least it’s leading you to a healthy eating lifestyle. Look at Carnie Wilson, she had her stomach stapled, a serious surgery and now the weight is back (not all of it) but she didn’t change her eating. Surgery is a risk. Infection? Anesthesia? Recovery? There is some great support here. And I feel that if you change your eating regardless if it’s with this diet or another that’s the way to go (and you can still come here!) What’s important is you do what’s healthy. I’ve even heard stories of women gaining weight just so they qualify for surgery – and don’t think it’s never crossed my mind! I would love for there to be an easy, safe way that I could eat what I wanted without side effects and weigh 125 lbs. I’m so happy you’re here! Terri

      Reply

  2. AlanaSmithee
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 16:43:56

    I have NO desire to do lap band and was quite surprised by her comment.
    I told her I gained it the old fashioned way and I will lose it the old fashioned way, eating less and more healthy and exercising.
    She’s not the type to say something like that so it was totally out of left field that she would say such a thing. Which makes me question her support of me losing weight. I have certainly shared with her my unhappiness over my weight so I don’t know–people sometimes don’t react the way you think they will–she certainly didn’t.

    I’m here and waiting for my book.

    Reply

  3. Georgia Girl Cindy
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 17:49:27

    I am so excited about getting my book. It will be here on Friday!! I got engaged in April of last year and have since gained 30 lbs (both of us have)….look what happiness will do to you!! We are getting married in May on the beach and have decided it’s time to get it off. At 47 it isn’t near as easy to get this middle buldge of 30 lbs off as it was in my younger days!! 3 years ago I ran 16 different 5 k races…now, I run out of breath walking up a set of stairs!! I am ready to make this happen. Looking forward to working with a great community of “17 Day Diet” friends!

    I can tell through the other comments that this will be a very important blog in my life…the support here is amazing!!

    Reply

  4. Monica
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 18:28:39

    I remember when I was taking care of my Mom before she went into a nursing home, to please be sure and eat her lunch and take her meds while I was at work. I’d come home and she hadn’t done either (the beginnings of what would later be diagnosed as early onset dementia) and I’ve give her a gentle scolding and say to her “Mom, would you let a child not take their medicine or not eat their lunch? You have to take care of yourself as if you are a child”. I thought about that this afternoon while I was driving home from work. I have to take all the harsh advice I give other people and apply to myself. I have to take care of myself and treat myself as if I were a child I’m responsible for.

    Reply

  5. Bethany
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 18:53:21

    I think the whole collage idea is brilliant! It will be so much motivation and a vision what our future will look like WHEN we succeed! Between this site and another weight loss blog I belong to, I have found so much motivation and positivity that I can’t even think about anything else! I read the book and started on the 18th and have already lost 10 lbs (day 11)! I feel good, more energetic and I don’t want this feeling to go away. This change means the world to me and I think, after all the diets and fads I’ve tried over the years, that this is finally the time! Good luck to everyone!

    Reply

  6. KyTeacher
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 09:28:23

    I started Monday. I had a headache on day 1 & day 2 but feel great today. I had alot of questions after reading the book. One was why can’t you have sugar free jello??? I mean there is nothing in it!! No carbs, no sugar, no fat. So I have made some for those times at night that I want something!

    Also, how is everybody doing with the green tea??? That has been really tough for me! I usually have to just jug it down!!!!!

    Reply

    • Georgia Girl Cindy
      Jan 01, 2011 @ 18:15:18

      Try the Lipton, diet, berry green tea….makes it a lot easier. I think you will like it…it is better than just green tea.

      Reply

  7. Debbie Ponz
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 11:28:30

    I also love the collage idea and I wanted to add something about how this diet has helped me without even counting the weight loss. I thought doing this might help when the pounds don’t come off as fast as I hoped it would. So here goes.
    1. I feel so much better more energy and more relaxed no mood swings.
    2. No more IBS not since day 3. I was in so much pain every night. I would be up half of the night with bloating, chest pains and cramps.
    3. On day 13 I have already lost 2 inches off my midriff! I am a total apple and with diabetes I had a 45 inch midriff two inches larger than my hips today I have a 43 inch midriff. Make sure you take before photos and measurements.
    4. My husband noticed my jeans are getting too big on me and told me to go clothes shopping!
    5. Gallbladder attacks are gone.
    6. Weight loss over the holiday instead of the normal weight gain.

    I haven’t lost as much as I had hoped because I ate over the 3 day holiday weekend and it as took me 3 days to get back to were I was on the 23rd. that is why I am adding 3 days to the end of my cycle 1 before I switch.

    Alana, I have lots of family and friends that need to lose weight and have seen me lose on lots of diets only to gain the weight back. They don’t seem to understand how it makes us feel when they offer suggestions that are foolish. They also don’t want to think about their own weight problem when the see someone choosing to address their own health issues and believe me this is a health issue not just a weight problem. Good luck on your journey, keep visiting this blog and find others who support you, the others will come around.

    Reply

    • Jenna
      Dec 29, 2010 @ 16:34:36

      Wow Debbie, your post just made me feel really passionate. I am glad we are all here for each other and I hope it goes as well for me and it is for you. I am starting 1-1-2011 and am really excited. I keep telling myself “I can do this” but after reading your post “I know I can do this!”

      Reply

  8. RunMomRun
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 13:56:41

    I have a program question that I hope someone can help me with. I know that carbs are suppose to be eaten by 2:00. I did finish my apple around that time. I have not had my probiotic yet and actually I am hungry and not dinner time. Yogurt is pretty high in carbs, but would it be better to eat it now (at 4:00 p.m.) rather than skip having it. I do have a bit of a headache today. I am technically on Day 3 but going to add 2 extra days onto the end of my 17 days as I only partially followed the program (and totally went off last night) the first 2 day so this week due to Christmas celebrations. As of this a.m. I was down 2.1 pounds in 2 days.
    Here are my wt stats: 158 (starting)/155.9(current)/140(first goal).

    Reply

  9. Debbie Ponz
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 16:52:16

    i don’t know about anyone else but I do have my carbs after 2. Because I am a type 2 diabetic I really need some sort of carb in the evening so I usually have an apple. It may have slowed my weight loss down a bit but having the carb has helped me keep on the diet and I figure that is the best thing for me to do. As far as the sugar free jello maybe because the doctor doesn’t want you to have sugar subs at all if you can keep from it.

    Reply

  10. tksinclair
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 18:08:34

    I also have carbs after 2:00. I often eat an apple if I think I’m going to go NUTS wanting sugar. I’m sure when it gets down to losing those last 10-15 pounds I will have to be much stricter.

    I think if you have 20 or less pounds to lose you have to follow the diet very close to have quick results. If you have more to lose then you can be a little more liberal.

    I have dropped two of the three pounds I gained last week!

    Reply

  11. AlanaSmithee
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 12:20:38

    Debbie,
    Thanks for the encouragement. My order has shipped so I should have the book this week sometime. Then some reading and off to the market for the right foods in the frig.
    I too am an apple with a midriff the same size as you so hearing your progress is great news.

    Reply

  12. merideth
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 14:09:58

    alana, i would like to “slap” your friend for you! 🙂 i am not telling a soul about my foray into the 17-day diet. i have never been on a diet b/f, but i am not surrounded with helpful, supportive people & want to avoid the snide comments and sideways glances. you and i (and all the other ladies and gents on here) can be each others’ support.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

