What to do while you’re waiting for the book…

Christina reminded me yesterday that earlier in the week she wrote and asked “What can I do while I’m waiting for my book to arrive?” and thought a few of you might appreciate some tips I shared with her. (Thanks Christina)

So you’ve made the decision, ordered the book and now you’re just sitting on the front porch waiting for the mailman everyday! (Guess you can tell I’m in Southern California.  Probably if you’re in Buffalo, NY you’re not on your front porch)  Or, maybe you’re panicking thinking you should have paid the $100.00 for overnight shipping because Lord only knows how much weight you might have lost today if you had that book or worse gained because you didn’t!

I know how you’re feeling right about now…you’re feeling like you’ve made the decision to change your eating and now your only hope is to start as soon as possible!  You might feel like you need to start quickly, right this very second, before your motivation disappears. (Historically, if you’re like me your motivation disappears much faster than your weight!)

It’s funny isn’t it when we decide to start a new “diet” or eating program we feel the need to start right that moment! Cause once you’ve decided to order the book your mind is made up to lose that extra weight!  You have resolve!  You have enthusiasm!  You’re ready to go!

 Mind you we’ve eaten willy nilly for weeks, months or years prior but suddenly we’re afraid to eat anything that isn’t on whatever eating program we’ve decided to start.  We’re weird huh?

The fact is this – you’re most likely not going to gain 10 extra pounds while waiting for your book to arrive and the same mentality you’re in while waiting for your book might just sabotage you after you start your new eating plan.  Let me explain…the 17 Day Diet is NOT a 17 Day Diet.

 Okay, okay, okay don’t panic!  Don’t run for the door!  Sit down, I can explain!!

It’s an eating for life program and it starts in phase’s o f 17 days.  The beginning is restrictive so you will lose weight fast and start to reap the benefits quickly.  SO, will you be able to follow the diet to a “T” every day for the rest of your life? I doubt it and if you can I’d sure as heck like to meet you and shake your hand!  But the goal is to do the best you can for as often as you can, right?  You’re going to have occasional treats or maybe even splurges.  The important thing is not to let it sabotage you. 

Okay, what should you do while you’re waiting for your book?

First get as far away from the refrigerator as possible and dare not open your mouth for anything but water until that book arrives, right?    NO!  I’m just kidding and seeing if you’re paying attention!!

I would start by eliminating sugar and lowering carbs.  Eat primarily veggies and lean protein (chicken, fish, eggs).  If you’re a sugarholic like me I would start cutting out the sugar although yesterday I ate sugar like it was illegal!!!  (I’m starting phase 1 tomorrow!)   Eat 2 servings a day of Probiotic Foods, Yogurt, Greek style, sugar free is good – a 6 oz container is a serving. Sauerkraut, (yes it’s a probiotic food and helps if you’re having a salt craving!  Pickles too although not sweet ones) 1/2 cup is 1 serving.

You can eat liberal amounts of Artichoke, Artichoke hearts, Asparagus, Beets, Bell peppers – green, yellow, orange, red, Broccoli, Brussels sprouts, Cabbage, Carrots, Cauliflower, Celery, Cucumbers….

I make a soup with crushed tomatoes, chicken broth and vegetables – cabbage, carrots, onion, okra (but that’s just me – I use frozen), celery, salt and pepper… it’s really good and I try to keep it on hand and eat some anytime I’m craving salt or just feel hungry!  You can add some cooked chicken but I prefer the soup with no meat.  Add Tabasco if you like spice or whatever other spices you like. The full recipe for the soup is in the book.

Now for the hardest part, at least for me…CUT THE CAFFIENE.  Cutting out the coffee and soda was so hard for me and I admit I still cheat on occasion BUT, and this is a big but that can lead to a bigger butt, it will slow your weight loss.  For me it’s worth the trade off.  It would kill me to completely cut out coffee (and we won’t speak to what it would do to those around me!)  I don’t drink a pot of coffee a day – I stick with a cup in the morning and occasionally have a diet soda.  The lower the sodium in the soda, the better.  Someone here told me Diet Rite was a good choice.

Here’s the most important thing you can do to get started – right now – this very second – stop the negative self talk – the destructive thoughts – they are not harmless and they trigger you to overeat.  Self talk is that conversation you constantly have with yourself, that “tape” that runs through your head that says you’re not good enough, you’re a failure, YOU’RE FAT, that you ate a piece of bacon for breakfast so why bother you’re never going to make this work, that you have no will power.  You know the tape.  You have to stop.  Right now!!  It’s as important as no having caffeine or eating more vegetables.  Maybe even more important.  Every time you start to run the tape out loud say, STOP, rewind and say something positive (even if you have to force yourself at first) like you can do it, you’re not going to gain the weight back, you’re not doomed to be fat, it’s not the end of the world because you chose to eat something inappropriate and you’re not the only person who has to watch what you eat.

Just as you need to learn this eating program you need to learn the art of positive self talk.  You can do it.  I know you can. 

I also think it’s a good idea to start writing down what you eat.  You’d be surprised at how accountable it will make you even if you’re the only person who sees it.  Just remember you MUST WRITE IT ALL DOWN.  Even if it’s bad.  You won’t have to present the journal at the gates of heaven, I promise, it’s yours and yours alone – but it will help you.

